Skip to content


For 35 years, GMiS has recognized the achievements of America’s top engineers and scientists from the Hispanic community. These STEM leaders, innovators and champions represent the best and brightest minds our nation has to offer. They are symbols of Hispanic contributions at the highest levels of academia, government, military and corporate America. HENAAC award winners are proof that the Hispanic community is capable of stepping up to the leadership roles that the new demographics position demands. Winners receive their award at the HENAAC Awards show, a black tie gala event that serves as the climax of the annual GMiS Conference.

These outstanding individuals are evidence that we, as a nation, have what it takes to keep America as the world’s technology leader. Award winners will be recognized at a variety of events during the 36th Annual GMiS Conference, taking place in Fort Worth, TX, November 6-9, 2024.

Nomination form must be completed with documents uploaded by 11:59 PM PST on May 24, 2024.

Award Categories



Outstanding Technical Achievement

Most Promising
Engineer or Scientist

Professional Achievement I & II




Special Awards

Seven awards are not part of the nomination and selection process.  These “Special Awards” are set aside for extraordinary contributions in each of their categories. These special awards are recommended by the nomination committees as they review the candidates that have been submitted.  The exception is the Chairman’s Award which is solely picked by the Chairman of the Board.  These prestigious awards are not presented annually. They are only presented when the Selection Committee Chairs have determined that a candidate’s achieve­ments merit this special recognition.

Individuals are not nominated directly for special awards. To be consid­ered for any one of the following special award categories, the nominee must be ranked among the top five candidates in one of the established professional categories. The Selection Committees will forward the nomination package to the Selection Committee Chairs (SCCS) for consideration in one of the following special award categories:

Engineer of the Year

Chairman’s Award

Scientist of the Year

Vanguard Award

Albert V. Baez Award

Pioneer Award

Santiago Rodriguez Diversity & Inclusion Award

How to Nominate/Apply

Great Minds in STEM™ (GMiS) is in its 36th year of highlighting the nation’s best and brightest Hispanic engineers, scientists, mathematicians, technology experts and computer scientists. Through the HENAAC awards nomination process, GMiS honors and showcases role models to inspire young people to pursue careers in STEM, and to motivate professionals to continuously connect with the Hispanic community. By nominating individuals from your organization, you support GMiS in providing a pathway and vision for the next generation, of what it means to be a successful STEM professional.

Online Application Process

Step 1: Log in to, or create an account on the GMiS Access Portal.

Step 2: After logging in to the portal, click on the HENAAC Award Nominations box on the right hand side.

Step 3: Follow instructions in the portal to start a nomination.

Step 4: Complete the online HENAAC Award Nomination form and upload required documents and photo for each of your nominees.


– Online Nomination Form
– Nominator Statement
– Resume
– Full Job Description
– Organizational Chart
– Biography
– Recommendation Letters
– Color Photograph that is at least 300 dpi or higher
– Synopsis of Key Research (for technical award categories only)
– Articles about the Nominee (if applicable)

Why Nominate?

Recognize individuals on a national level through a highly-respected peer-reviewed process.

Identify emerging talent, top management, and outstanding work within your organization.

Support your organization’s retention efforts while showcasing your diversity efforts.

Selection Process

All winners and the individuals who nominated them will be notified via telephone and email by the third week of August 2024.

A formal letter of notification with details about the conference, awards show, rehearsals, etc. will be sent by email by the end of August 2024.

The nominators of individuals who did not win will receive letters indicating that their candidates were not selected.

Previous Award Winners

Award Winners

Award Winners

Award Winners

Award Winners

Award Winners


Read our nominations FAQ.


For additional information regarding the HENAAC Awards Nominations, please contact us at