Skip to content

HENAAC Award Nominations

Great Minds in STEM™ (GMiS) is in its 36th year of highlighting the nation’s best and brightest Hispanic engineers, scientists, mathematicians, technology experts and computer scientists. Through the HENAAC awards nomination process, GMiS honors and showcases role models to inspire young people to pursue careers in STEM, and to motivate professionals to continuously connect with the Hispanic community. By nominating individuals from your organization, you support GMiS in providing a pathway and vision for the next generation, of what it means to be a successful STEM professional.

Is there a future HENAAC Award Winner in your organization? Start your nomination today!

Award winners will be recognized at a variety of events during the 36th Annual GMiS Conference, taking place in Fort Worth, TX, November 6-9, 2024.

2023 Engineer of the Year – Alfredo Ramirez of Northrop Grumman.
2023 Most Promising Engineer Alexsandra Olaya-Garcia of The Boeing Company.

Why Nominate?

  • Recognize individuals on a national level through a highly-respected peer-reviewed process.
  • Identify emerging talent, top management, and outstanding work within your organization.
  • Support your organization’s retention efforts while showcasing your diversity efforts.

Online Application Requirements

  • Online Nomination Form
  • Nominator Statement
  • Resume
  • Full Job Description
  • Organizational Chart
  • Biography
  • Recommendation Letters
  • Color Photograph that is at least 300 dpi or higher
  • Synopsis of Key Research (for technical award categories only)
  • Articles about the Nominee (if applicable)

Online Application Process

  • Nominations Portal opens March 10, 2023.
  • Log in to, or create an account on the GMiS Access Portal:
  • Once in the GMiS Access Portal click on HENAAC Award Nominations box on the right hand side.
  • Follow instructions in the portal to start a nomination.
  • Complete the online HENAAC Award Nomination form and upload required documents and photo for each of your nominees.
  • Documents must be uploaded and submitted by 11:59 PM PST on May 24, 2024.
  • Paper copies are no longer accepted.

Selection Process

  • All winners and the individuals who nominated them will be notified via telephone and email by the third week of August 2024.
  • A formal letter of notification with details about the conference, awards show, rehearsals, etc. will be sent by email by the end of August 2024.
  • The nominators of individuals who did not win will receive letters indicating that their candidates were not selected.

Award Categories

  • Executive Excellence
  • Outstanding Technical Achievement
  • Professional Achievement I & II
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Entrepreneur
  • Most Promising Engineer or Scientist:
    -Undergraduate Degree
    -Advanced Degree
    -Doctorate (Ph.D / Sc.D.)
  • Community Service
  • Education Distinction

Special Awards

There are seven awards which are not part of the nomination and selection process.  These “Special Awards” are set aside for extraordinary contributions in each of their categories.   These special Awards are recommended by the nomination committees as they review the candidates that have been submitted.  The exception is the Chairman’s Award which is solely picked by the Chairman of the Board. 

Individuals are not nominated directly for special awards. To be consid­ered for any one of the following special award categories, the nominee must be ranked among the top five candidates in one of the established professional categories. The Selection Committees will forward the nomination package to the Selection Committee Chairs (SCCS) for consideration in one of the following special award categories:

  • Engineer of the Year
  • Scientist of the Year
  • Albert V. Baez Award
  • Pioneer Award
  • Chairman’s Award
  • Vanguard Award
  • Santiago Rodriguez Diversity & Inclusion Award

These prestigious awards are not presented annually. They are only presented when the Selection Committee Chairs have determined that a candidate’s achieve­ments merit this special recognition.


For additional information regarding the HENAAC Awards Nominations, please contact us at