Skip to content
Home » All News » U.S. Department of Energy Community College Internships (CCI) Program

U.S. Department of Energy Community College Internships (CCI) Program

Are you a community college student pursuing a STEM degree and interested in working with a Department of Energy national laboratory? The U.S. Department of Energy, through the DOE Office of Science, is now accepting applications for the Spring 2022 Community College Internship (CCI) program!

CCI Program Overview

The Community College Internships (CCI) program seeks to encourage community college students to enter technical careers relevant to the DOE mission by providing technical training experiences at the DOE laboratories. Selected students participate as interns appointed at one of 16 participating DOE laboratories. They work on technologies or instrumentation projects or major research facilities supporting DOE’s mission, under the guidance of laboratory staff scientists or engineers.

The CCI program is sponsored and managed by the DOE Office of Science’s Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists (WDTS) in collaboration with the DOE laboratories.

Applications for the CCI program are solicited annually for three separate internship terms. Internship appointments are 10 weeks in duration for the Summer (May through August), Fall (August through December), and Spring (January through May) Terms. In the Fall and Spring Terms, there is an option for a “flex-schedule” where the equivalent of 400 hours spent onsite at a host lab can be spread over a 16 week duration term. This option is available at the discretion of host labs. Under a flex-schedule, weekly stipends are based on a 40 hours/week payment, prorated accordingly, with any housing allowance being based upon a 10-week duration appointment.  Each DOE laboratory/facility offers different research opportunities; not all DOE laboratories/facilities offer internships during the Fall and Spring Terms.

Further details can be found here, apply by October 6, 2021 at 5:00 PM ET.